Member News

Inga Aksamit was profiled in the Press Democrat for her book, The Hungry Spork Trail Recipes: Quick Gourmet Meals for the Backcountry, which won the Best Outdoor Guidebook award in 2020 from the Outdoor Writers Association of California. Recipes in the book represent all the major cuisines of the world, assembled from freeze-dried or dehydrated ingredients. The recipes have been embraced by backcountry enthusiasts as well as RVers, office workers and busy moms who need a quick, delicious just-add-water meal. Recipes printed in the article included Moroccan Chickpea and Quinoa Salad, Senegalese Peanut Soup and Indonesian Chicken noodles. Read the article here.


Ginny Prior’s article on open water swimming came out this month in Diablo Magazine. It’s a detailed look at the East Bay’s most popular ocean swimming spots. Read it here.


First-Time author David Eugene Perry took home a coveted Silver Medal in the LGBT category in ceremonies last night marking the 33rd Annual Benjamin Franklin Awards from the Independent Book Publishers Association for his critically-acclaimed mystery thriller Upon This Rock from Pace Press.

“Ben Franklin was always my favorite patriot so this award thrills me,” said Perry, 59. “In a year when COVID made us all turn even more to books, the IBPA had more submissions than at any time since 2008. I’m greatly honored to have been nominated among so many fine writers and to have won this prize and so grateful to Pace Press.”

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, recognizing excellence in book editorial and design, are regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers.


Diane Lebow is a guest speaker for the Gold Country Writers Association on June 16, at 10 a.m. Zoom at Topic: “A Trailblazing Woman’s Tales of Travel, Adventure, and Romance: from life to the page.”



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin